Normal Topic Critical Hits (Read 2052 times)
John
Galactus

The Master Cylinder

Critical Hits
Nov 22nd, 2009 at 4:19pm
Print Post  
  Some damage is more dangerous than others.   Getting stabbed, for instance, can be more life threatening than getting punched.    V&V left out a critical hit system due to them playing a more Four Color game.   I have been using this critical hit system for ten years to add some more danger to my game.

After hitting someone, you always roll for the knock out roll.  If the KO roll is 01-05 its a critical hit!  That means the target takes one point of damage per turn until medical attention is giving.  This is from an internal wound, or serious bleeding or what ever.
    However, the  roll must be equal to or lower than the damage taken.

For example, if  Puncher smashes  Mr Good for 3 damage and rolls a KO of 4, it is not critical even though the roll is under 05.  Why?  Because Mr good only took 3 damage from his hits.

Make sense?

Ok, now these things modifiy the critical hits.

Punches: Normal. 01-05
Blunt Weapons: 01-10
Sharp Weapons: 01-15
Guns:                 01-20
Exposions:          01-25
Energy:              01-15

Now the body part also modifies the critical hits.

Body Shot: normal
Arm, leg:   normal
Head, Heart:  x4
Groin:            x3

So if a gun is used an a called shot to the head is made, then  the wound is critical if the knockout rolls is between 01-80! 

« Last Edit: Nov 22nd, 2009 at 4:19pm by John »  

I am scary, very, very scary.
IP Logged

Hammer
Justice Leaguer

Stranger in a Stranger
Land

Re: Critical Hits
Reply #1 - Nov 22nd, 2009 at 4:33pm
Print Post  
That certainly makes a 1d8 pistol a lot more lethal...

IP Logged

John
Galactus

The Master Cylinder

Reply #2 - Nov 22nd, 2009 at 8:50pm
Print Post  
Yes but if you still only did four points of damage, you only have a four percent chance of it being critical.

I am scary, very, very scary.
IP Logged

Doctor Foom
Justice Leaguer

Silver Age relic